In The Presence of a Great Man

I recently attended a Trump rally.

The enthusiasm of the crowd was something I have never before experienced. When Mr. Trump walked onto the stage, the crowd erupted in thunderous cheers and applause. He stood and waved for a moment, shook a few hands of the people seated behind him, and then strove purposefully to the lectern.

Although there were thousands of people present, many times he heard individual voices and replied to them. More than once, he looked me directly in the eye while he was speaking. I asked people around me if they had had that experience too, and every one of them had.

Words fail to describe his presence. He has such intense, yet disarming, personal charisma that instantly instills confidence and trust. He is a man of his word; there can be no question about that.

The thing that meant the most to me was what he did after his speech. He spent about 30 seconds shaking hands with the Republicrats sitting behind him (who last week at this time were Cruzbots). Then he turned and walked down the stairs and to the front of the crowd of ordinary people. He instinctively knows that his supporters are the most loyal, and he rewarded that loyalty.

Mr. Trump is worth more than $10 Billion. In other words, his time is incredibly valuable. Yet he took the time to shake the hand of, or autograph something for, every single person in the section in front of the stage. It was absolutely electrifying, and I have never experienced anything like it in my life.

Imagine how many people have spent immense amounts of time and money attempting to get Mr. Trump’s signature. Yet he gave it to me and my friends for free.

We can debate policy. Those who read my blog know that I am a monarchist. But policies and -isms are means to ends, they are not ends in themselves. It has been said that Mr. Trump’s supporters are the most loyal, and there can be no doubt about that. His approach to this election (though as a monarchist I believe that democracy itself is the problem) has been nothing short of brilliant. His first position paper was on the Second Amendment. Basically, he told armed law-abiding citizens that he will not permit the government to disarm them. That cemented the loyalty of a core of the right, and allowed him to move to much more centrist positions. Because he is the head of a family dynasty and his legacy is his family name, those of us on the far right can trust and know that he has our back. Because of that loyalty and trust, when he takes a centrist position we know that he’s doing so for strategic purposes, and he will not sell us out. I believe that. Having been in his presence and having had a momentary interaction with him, I am certain that the loyalty of his followers is well-placed indeed. That loyalty runs in both directions, of that I am certain.

I experienced his presence, I listened to him speak, I looked him in the eye. Based on that, I am certain that he is a straight shooter, a man of principle, a man of his word.

God save Donald J. Trump.

This is my hat. There are many like it, but this one is mine!

photo-2

4 thoughts on “In The Presence of a Great Man

  1. Pingback: In The Presence of a Great Man | Reaction Times

  2. After their meeting [on July 17, 1945], Truman, Stalin and accompanying advisors “had lunch, talked socially, [and] put on a real show, drinking toasts to everyone” and posing for photographs. Truman closed his entry for that day on a note of confidence. “I can deal with Stalin,” he wrote. “He is honest, but smart as hell.”

    That’s not to say I do not hope all the left’s greatest fears about Trump are realized. I do. But my expectations remain low.

    Like

Leave a Reply

